Skip to content

my mighty morning smoothie

February 22, 2013

Serves 1
Prep time: 2 minutes

My mighty morning smoothie

Green smoothies: never pretty

Allow me to introduce my breakfast.  It meets 50 per cent of my daily protein needs and a whopping 70 per cent of my calcium needs.  It is green, but only mildly so, and it tastes beautiful, which is thanks to peanut butter.

Everyone who makes smoothies has their own little idiosyncratic approach. Personally, I like to add a teaspoon of wakame, because I am not a massive fan of seaweed but I still want the iodine. This is the smoothie way, I think: if there’s a vile-tasting health food that you think your body needs, the best thing to do is to liquidise it with plenty of peanut butter and banana, and voilà! – one happy health nut.

The trouble is, after one of these smoothies for breakfast I often feel like eating nothing but shitty white bread sandwiches and vegan Co-op doughnuts for the rest of the day.  A healthy diet is all about balance.

Ingredients

One medium banana
Three dates
Hemp protein powder, 15g
Light soy milk, 400ml
Kale or spring greens, 30g
Peanut butter, 25g
Wakame, 1 tsp

Whizz everything up in a high speed blender for a good 45 secs – 1 minute until smooth.

2 Comments
  1. Hello There. I found your blog using msn. This is a really well written
    article. I will make sure to bookmark it and come back to read more of your useful info.

    Thanks for the post. I will definitely comeback.

Leave a Reply

fielsted

Thoughts about the things that matter

Walking Wales

I'm Will. I'm 25. I walk in Wales. Sometimes beyond.

Runner Girl Go

"The best thing you can do for yourself is pick an adventure that excites you and go for it, full of fear, but holding nothing back." -Candice Burt, Author of the blog "Wild Defined"

Guts, Gams and Grit

Random thoughts about ultra running

IN BRIEF

by Senedd Research, National Assembly for Wales

COOKING ON A BOOTSTRAP

by Jack Monroe, bestselling author of 'A Girl Called Jack'

Secrets from My Macrobiotic Kitchen with Julie S. Ong

Eat better. Live better. Love better.

Nourished Intuition

Health - Business - Success

beach house kitchen

vegan - feel good food - healthy - tasty - simple - wholefood - travel - fresh - local - home cooked happiness

Green Building Blog

low cost eco-building

Discover Foraging

Stumbling through the world of wild food

theroadtoserendipity

Trying to find order in all of this chaos

fatveganbaby.com/

a lifestyle blog, inspired by my life.

happytailsvegan

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

A Vegan in the Weeds.

A young woman's journey to enlightenment through food.

Buddhism now

Welcome to Buddhism Now an online Buddhist magazine, giving advice on how to practise Buddhism

vinicooksveg

Amazing & fun.........Indian cooking!!

My Vegan Food Blog

Giving you delicious and easy plant-based recipes

Penny Veg

plant-based wholefoods on a budget

