Skip to content

Liebster award!

December 4, 2012

Leibster awardA huge thank you to Herbifit for nominating Vegan Bellyful for the Liebster Award!

 

LIEBSTER AWARD

1. Add the award icon to your blog!

2. Link to your nominator to say thank you.

3. Each blogger should post 11 facts about themselves.

4. Answer the questions the tagger has set for you, & create 11 questions for your nominations to answer.

5. Choose 11 up-and-coming bloggers with less than 200 followers, go to their blog, and tell them about the award.

 

Facts About Me

1.  I was born in London but I have lived in Wales since I was six years old, apart from a few years here and there at university and so on.  English people say that I’m Welsh, but Welsh people say I’m English.  I have no idea what I am supposed to be.

2.  One of my favourite things to do is cooking with my eldest daughter.  She usually makes up a story involving kitchen utensils as various characters.  And there is always a lot of bowl-licking.

3.  I am very interested in great apes, particularly bonobos.  They are as closely related to humans as chimpanzees but their society is almost completely non-violent.  They are vegetarians and they like to have sex.  A lot!

4.  I am also fascinated by the story of humans – where we have come from and what it would be like to exist in the past.  I don’t believe in any kind of Golden Age, but there is a part of me that can’t help romanticising times in the past when people’s work directly fulfilled their day-to-day needs – growing food, making whatever they required and bartering for everything else.  I am such a hippy.

5.  My favourite novel is Tess of the D’Urbervilles.  I am a big fan of Virginia Woolf, Margaret Atwood, Samuel Beckett and James Joyce.  I also love the travel writing of a mad Victorian explorer called Isabella Bird.

6.  I used to be quite good at the piano but I am very rusty now.  I can just about play a few Satie songs, Moonlight Sonata and Lazing on a Sunny Afternoon by the Kinks.  My husband is grateful that I have finally forgotten how to play any Scott Joplin.

7.  I have learned that the secret to being a successful vegan is not to try to replace cheese.  Instead focus on umami, and your tastebuds will be fulfilled.

8.  The other secret to being a successful vegan is to BE PREPARED.  I always carry a stash of mini dark chocolate bars so I can have something nice with my coffee.

9.  There are many countries I would love to visit – at the very top of the bucket list are Japan and India.

10.  I would quite like to run a marathon one day, ideally the Athens Marathon.

11.  I ran my first half marathon last year, and I got pregnant the same day!

 

My answers to Herbifit’s questions

How do you make dietary choices? What is important for you?
I choose to be vegan because I think it’s the right thing to do.  On a day to day basis I try to listen to my body and give it what it seems to want.

What is your favourite under-appreciated ingredient?
At the moment I am loving caraway seeds, especially in biscuits or with cabbage.

Why do you write your blog?
I spend a lot of time obsessing over dishes I want to make, so creating blog posts about them gives the process a nice neat end point (as well as eating the food, obviously).

What is your favourite drink?
Red wine.

What book would you recommend everyone read?
It is probably an obvious answer but I think everyone should read Eating Animals by Jonathan Safran Foer, and then make an informed choice as to whether they want to eat meat or not.

What annoys you?
My husband when he looks meaningfully into my eyes just as he is chewing the gristle off a chicken bone.

What makes you laugh?
Very puerile toilet humour.

Can you dance?
No – completely hopeless.

If you could take just one thing from your house when it was on fire what would it be?
I would be dithering between childhood photo albums and my Vitamix!

What is your favourite childhood memory?
When I was 14, being taken out of school for a few days when my mum had to do a course in London.  We all stayed at my dad’s flat and my brother and I spent the days on our own, wandering around London and staring wide-eyed at everything.

What would you like to have written on your tombstone?
‘She made quite nice pizza’.

 

My questions

1. If you were given an expenses paid holiday to the destination of your choice, where would you go and what would you eat once you got there?

2. How would you describe the style of food you like to make?

3. What is your favourite cook book?

4. What is your number one never-fail recipe?

5. What kitchen equipment couldn’t you live without?

6. What kitchen equipment do you lust after?

7. Do you have a favourite vegetable?

8. Do you have a favourite dessert?

9. Is there any food you really can’t stand?

10. Dream dinner party guests?

11. Nightmare dinner party guests?

 

My nominees

In Vegetables We Trust
My Healthy Chef
Kick Ass Vegan
Hungry and Fit
Veggie 4 a Year
Wholesome Hostage
Raw Food Etc
Food With Function
Vegan Crumbs
Love and Broccoli
Sugar Coat It

From → Thoughts

3 Comments
  1. it taking me ages to get back to you on this one, but thankyou for the award! and good questions, ill get back to you as soon as i find the bloggers i want to nominate 🙂

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. THE LIEBSTER AWARD!! « my healthy chef
  2. Whisky, Green Lentil and veggies Cobbler. « In Vegetables We trust

Leave a Reply

fielsted

Thoughts about the things that matter

Walking Wales

I'm Will. I'm 25. I walk in Wales. Sometimes beyond.

Runner Girl Go

"The best thing you can do for yourself is pick an adventure that excites you and go for it, full of fear, but holding nothing back." -Candice Burt, Author of the blog "Wild Defined"

Guts, Gams and Grit

Random thoughts about ultra running

In Brief

In Brief is the National Assembly for Wales Research Service blog, posting short, topical and accessible articles on issues of interest to Assembly Members and their staff.

COOKING ON A BOOTSTRAP

by Jack Monroe, bestselling author of 'A Girl Called Jack'

Secrets from My Macrobiotic Kitchen with Julie S. Ong

Eat better. Live better. Love better.

Nourished Intuition

Health - Business - Success

beach house kitchen

vegan - feel good food - healthy - tasty - simple - wholefood - travel - fresh - local - home cooked happiness

Green Building Blog

low cost eco-building

Discover Foraging

Stumbling through the world of wild food

theroadtoserendipity

Trying to find order in all of this chaos

fatveganbaby.com/

a lifestyle blog, inspired by my life.

happytailsvegan

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

A Vegan in the Weeds.

A young woman's journey to enlightenment through food.

Buddhism now

Welcome to Buddhism Now an online Buddhist magazine, giving advice on how to practise Buddhism

vinicooksveg

Amazing & fun.........Indian cooking!!

My Vegan Food Blog

Giving you delicious and easy plant-based recipes

Penny Veg

plant-based wholefoods on a budget

